top of page
  • Writer's pictureKugs

2019 Fantasy Football Preview-My Top 3 Players at Each Position



If you’re in one of my leagues, stop reading now. Can’t be giving you guys the secrets I’m gonna use to beat all you.This is my top fantasy player ranking, not pure football skill ranking, which would probably be a lot different.


*based on a standard PPR scoring system*

The Rankings:


QB:


1- Patrick Mahomes


This was the easiest choice of the entire article. Mahomes is the best quarterback in the league right now and will be for a few years to come. Of course Brady is the Goat, and Aaron Rodgers and Drew Brees have had amazing careers, but it’s patty football’s turn. The Chiefs are gonna be playing football into January, and Mahomes will be the main reason; we know Andy Reid’s draws and screens won’t be why the Chiefs will be in the super bowl, but don’t be surprised if you see Mahomes lead them all the way to Miami this winter. And did you know his dad played baseball? I don’t think they ever bring that up.


2- Drew Brees


Mahomes is the best quarterback in the league, but Drew Brees has always been a top fanasty player. I drafted Brees in my first ever fanasty draft back when I was like 11 years old, and I won my dads league that year. Brees isn’t taking his foot off the gas, and I expect the Saints to be another team playing into January, mostly due to Drew Brees and his 5,000 passing yards.


3- Matt Ryan


Choosing a 3rd stud quarterback for 2019 was tough. The top ranked qbs include Andrew luck, Desean Watson, and Big Ben- all injury prone players that are elite when healthy. I went with Matt Ryan, who I believe will have another MVP caliber season. Watch out for the Falcons this season, they’re gonna make a run and Matt Ryan will be a top 5 fantasy player leading them there with the help of a solid offense around him.

RBs:


1- Saquan Barkley


Saquan Barkley is going to be the best running back in the NFL for the next decade. I remember the first time I saw him play back when he was a freshman at Penn State. That day I knew he was gonna be special, but i never thought I would have to cheer against him. The Giants are going to SUCK this year, but expect Saquan to have an MVP caliber season. I have a feeling Eli will be benched after the team starts 0-4, and Shurmur will put in Daniel Jones. This is going to be a disaster, and the Giants are going to have to run the ball 40 times a game to stand a chance. Expect Saquan to lead the league in rushing yards, touchdowns, and catches out of the backfield.


2- Le’Veon Bell


It was really hard putting him on my list, but I had to. I wanted to murder Bell last year. I got him a few weeks into the season via trade and expected him to come back eventually. The dude never came back to play, but thank god I had James Connor. I expect Le’Veon to have a breakout year, and the Jets are going to surprise a lot of people. The Leveon Bell we knew before last season will be back this season, and I expect him to put up crazy numbers.


3- Todd Gurley


This was a tough choice between Gurley and Zeke, but fuck Zeke. If he signed yet, I probably would have gone with Elliot, but who even knows when he’ll be back from his holdout. I feel like the ewok looking ass won’t even play this year. I expect a holdout from him that will last at least a few week, causing me to believe he won’t be a top 5 fanasty back this season.


Gurley is probably the best running back in the league when it comes to pure football, not fanasty, but expect he will have another solid fanasty season barring injury.


WRs:


1- Deandre Hopkins

2- Michael Thomas


The first two were easy to pick. Hopkins is the best receiver in the league, and Thomas is going to have another pro-bowl season with what I expect to be one of the best quarterbacks in the league.


3- Amari Cooper/Adam Theilen/Julio Jones

Picking a third was tough, as there is so much talent at the receiver position. It’s a tie between Amari Cooper, Julio Jones and Adam Theilin. I hate to say it, but the cowboys offense is going to be dirty. I expect Dak and Cooper to connect a lot this season. I had to include Theilin too; he’s a fanasty stud and isn’t slowing down. I also expect the Ryan to Jones combo to be lethal this season. Can’t go wrong with any of the above players.

TE:


1- Zach Ertz


Zach Ertz is the best tight end in the league, and he’s going to get better this year. The 6 year veteran has improved every season he’s been in the league, and finished last season with 116 catches for almost 1,200 yards and 8 touchdowns. Ertz is Wentz’s favorite target, and I expect Ertz to be the biggest piece in what will be Wentz’s first MVP caliber season. Look to grab him in late first round or early second, he’s gonna go fast.


2- Travis Kelce

3- George Kittle


There aren’t too many standout tightends when it comes to fanasty, so the top 3 were pretty easy to pick. Under Ertz I put Kelce then Kittle. Kelce will be Mahomes number one target in the red zone this season, and Kittle will be the 49ers number one threat. Expect both to have breakout seasons and put up Gronk-mlike numbers.

Defense:


1-Chicago Bears


The bears finished 2019 letting up the least amount of points in the league at 17.69 points per game and had the most fanasty points per week out of all defenses at almost 12. The team also signed Ha Ha Clinton Dix


2- Los Angeles Rams


The Rams allowed 24 points per game last season, but finished second in the league in fanasty points per game at 9.63. The team lost 3 defensive starters thus year- Lineman Ndamukong Suh signed with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, linebacker Mark Barron the Pittsburgh Steelers and safety Lamarcus Joyner the Oakland Raiders.

The Rams did re-signed edge rushing linebacker Dante Fowler and added veterans Eric Weddle and Clay Matthew.


I see improvements on the Rams secondary, and their line will still be as strong as ever will the best player in the league, Aaron Donald, leading the way.


3- New England Patriots


Michael Bennett, Dont’a Hightower, Kyle Van Noy, the Mccourty brothers, and Patrick Chung. The defending super bowl champs ranked 3rd in defensive points last season averaging 8.69 points per week, allowing about 20.31 points per game. The team has only gotten stronger adding Bennett, and the patriots defense might be what carries them this year, unlike the usually Tom Brady piggyback.

Kicker:


Justin Tucker


Justin Tucker. That’s it. My kicker every year. You don’t want anyone else. Just don’t take Jake Elliot it you can’t get tucker. Take your kicker in the last round of the draft, unless u can snag JT in like the 11th.


I prob will come in 10th place and all of these players will either get hurt or suck, but hey fuck it. I was amazing at fantasy when I was a kid; I would destroy all my dads friends for years. But one day I discovered what a girl was and realized life was not all about sports. I started to actually make friends and I got worse and worse at fanasty. BUT IM BACK BABY. We going undefeated and winning all our leagues this year.


So who do you go with in the first round?


My top ten, in order, are as follows:


1- Barkley

2- Mahomes

3- Bell

4- Hopkins

5- Gurley

6- Kamara

7- McCaffrey

8- Ertz

9- Julio Jones

10- Travis Kelce


I know 2 tighends in the first round is a lot, but they’re number 1 targets for 2 of the leagues best quarterbacks. I got no credentials, but fuck it, these are my predictions.


*Top 3 sleepers and top 3 busts fantasy preview coming soon.


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page