top of page
  • Writer's pictureKugs

This Week in Betting (8/19-8/25)


Last week was a good week for me on the sports book; I won 2 baseball parlays, a preseason parlay, and I had Justin Thomas winning the BMW Championship this past weekend. Albeit, a few bad beats sent me back to just about $20 over for the week. I lost 2 other baseball parlays, and had a “missed pick that pissed off Chris,” which was a bullshit last minute loss in the Bucs v. Dolphins games.


I was at a party Friday night and I checked my phone. I had the Dolphin’s money line at +140 and parlayed it with the Giants, who had already won. Last minute, Fins drive down the field and score to be down one. I’m hype as shit at this point, but then I wondered if there was OT in preseason; there was no doubt in my mind they would go for two, and they fucking got it. There’s like :22 seconds left on the clock, no way some scrub who’s a backup of a scrub from the Bucs would pull off a game winning drive. Well he did, and Tampa Bay won on a last second field goal. The highest of highs to the lowest of lows, but I’m not giving up yet.

This week in preseason I like the Broncos and 49ers OVER 40 in some Monday night football. I’m calling this the battle of the backups, as both teams have QBs trying to prove that they could be QB2, even though none of them really should be.


Jimmy G should make his preseason debut and will get a few reps, but then the Niners will move to CJ Beathard and Nick Mullens, who both have started for the team in the past. After Flacco gets a few reps, Drew Lock and Kevin Hogan will play. All of these players kind of suck, but they have a lot to play for, so smash the over.


I’ve always said that preseason is just a test of which team has better scrubs on their training camp roster. The Vikings probably have the best scrub in the NFL; the best preseason quarterback of all time perhaps? Vikings’ QB Kyle Sloter’s career preseason numbers are as follows:

-89 of 119, 75% with 9 TDS and 0 INTs. And to make him even cooler, he wears a glove on his throwing hand. Take the Vikings -7 against the Cardinals this weekend.

What I’m most excited for this week is week 0 of college football betting. We have 2 games this Saturday, Florida v. Miami (Fl) and Arizona v. Hawaii.


For the big game, I’m taking the Gators - 7 and OVER 47. I’m staying away from Arizona v. Hawaii, as the over under scares me at 71, and I do not know enough about Arizona football to take them -11.5.


My random bet for the week will be in FCS football. I’m taking Colgate 2.5 because according to PFT Commenter, teams that wear red are scientifically proven to win more.

Over in the MLB, I’m only taking 1 play. With other sports coming back, there’s no point of wasting my money on a sport I barely win at, even though I’m decently knowledgeable about the current state of the league. My play for tonight is the Royals (+118) @ Baltimore. These are 2 of the more shitty teams in the MLB, so I’m just going with the better team, as they have better value.

This week is going to be my first time betting soccer, other than the women’s World Cup. I have a MLS play that I like, and a couple EPL bets that I’m planning on parlaying.


In the MLS, I’m looking at Orlando City @ Atlanta United. ATL has great value at +110, and is the second best team in the league right now, behind LAFC. Atlanta United Won 2-0 when the teams played in the US open cup on 8/6 and won 1-0 on 5/12 in a regular season match


In the EPL, I’m looking at Chelsea over Norwich at -115, as they’re hungry for their first win of the season after a 1-1 draw last weekend with Leicester. I also like a draw between Aston Villa and Everton at +250. Great value for something that happens a lot in soccer. I obviously know nothing about the sport, but with a little research these are my bets.

*THE TOUR CHAMPIONSHIP PREVIEW COMING WEDNESDAY*

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page